Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Review: Church Audio 3-wire batt box/pre amp  (Read 3603 times)

Offline M

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
Review: Church Audio 3-wire batt box/pre amp
« on: March 27, 2006, 02:11:54 AM »
Before you read this you should take into consideration that I’m an amateur and that this review is imo.  I will provide samples along with a description of the circumstances of how I recorded them so you can generate your own opinion. 

So I just made my first couple tapes with my new church audio 3-wire batt box/pre amp.  I have the first one so I feel I should let you all know how my first field tests went. 

I used it with my mke2’s while recording my brother play his electric guitar & with my at853’s at a progressive rock concert.  I will provide samples upon request, just sent me a pm with your email.

I really don’t know what to say… I have used a sp batt box & a ps2 and I will no longer be using either (with the above mentioned mics).  I actually haven’t used a pre amp before.  I was going line in & boosting the levels in post if necessary.  So now I know what headroom is!!

Needless to say I am quite pleased with the functionality so far.  It sounds clean and has as much gain as I need or don’t need for that matter. 

To sum it up it is easy to use, compact and most importantly sounds good.

I owe Chris a big thank you for being so patient with me and building this handy little piece of gear.  Chris gets an A+ in my books for both craftsmanship & customer service.

For those of you that still don’t know what it does, it provides optimal 3-wire power,  offers 0db to 20db of gain & a selectable hpf @80hz. 

It sounds simple yet it is perfect for my recording purposes & no other retailers seem to make it.
Beyer CK930>Naiant TB>M10

Offline poorlyconditioned

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • I'm a tapir!
Re: Review: Church Audio 3-wire batt box/pre amp