Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: DAT deck help, please  (Read 2281 times)

Offline bobby24

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
DAT deck help, please
« on: September 18, 2008, 10:50:50 AM »
Hi,
I have a Sony 670 DAT deck.  Granted, i'm a newbie, but lately when i put a tape in, the deck just clicks and after about 10 seconds or so, the tape rewinds back to the beginning.  Any suggestions?
Thank you.
s

Offline LEDZEPZOSO

• Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: DAT deck help, please
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2008, 11:08:16 AM »
With the Sony PCM-M1 it usually meant o broken gear. It was about a $175 repair from Pro Digital. I ended up just upgrading to a Elriod R-09 for $200.

Offline dave570

• Taperssection Regular
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2008, 11:19:24 AM »
Happened to me on my D8 about 4 years ago.  Pro-Digital fixed it but I can't remember how much other than wishing it hadn't happened at all. If this is your home deck, suggest you look for a used one on EBay. If this is a portable, I also recommend you move to a memory card recorder. Or consider a used portable DAT deck on Ebay.  I still have my D8 and it got a clean bill of health from Pro-Digital in March when it was cleaned. But, I'm keeping it as backup in case my Edirol has issues.  My Fostex home DAT deck is also going strong. DAT is still the workhorse of media.

Offline bobby24

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2008, 11:23:52 AM »
Thanks Dave and LedZep!

I assumed it was dead, just wanted to make sure!!

Offline datbrad

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2008, 12:36:13 PM »
On that sony home deck, this means you have a transport issue. You can send to a Sony service center and they can repair it. A unit that old is actually way overdue for a service at that age anyway.
AKG C460B w/CK61/CK63>Luminous Monarch XLRs>SD MP-1(x2)>Luminous Monarch XLRs>PMD661(Oade WMOD)