Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Single Point Mic for Travel to Europe?  (Read 1745 times)

Offline ihworthi

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Single Point Mic for Travel to Europe?
« on: April 08, 2007, 12:47:34 PM »
Howdy Folks,

So, I've been serving up tunes via etree and my FTP server for many years. But, I've been away from the scene for a while (job, got married, etc) and wanted to get back into a lil recording. I'm not a pro by any means. If you care to laugh at my questions or setup, then I'm pleased to offer the humor. ;D

I have an old Sony MZ-R37 Portable MD recorder that a friend gave me years ago. And for what I enjoy and the recordings I've done, this lil thing has worked great over the years. Again, nothing professional here. I had a decent mic years ago. But, gave it to a new taper and haven't had a mic since. And having been out of the recording scene for a number of years and everything’s gotten really expensive and much more technical. I'll be heading to Europe on April 19 on a 2 week vacation. I recently found my ole MZ-R37 and thought, 'hey, maybe I could pull together a lil rig and take it with me and record any tunes I find?'

So, onto my question: Is it possible to pick up a mic, similar in design (but better quality) to like a Sony ECM-719 (see pic below)? I've got to take into consideration packing this in a carry on, not getting hassled by airport security, then having the mic and recorder in a messenger bag really to whip out, plug up, power on, and hit record pretty much on a moments notice. I'm not worried so much about being stealth as I am a quick setup with good sound. So, I'm looking for something small, with a standard stereo mini jack, and hopefully not costing as much as my plane ticket!  ;)