Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Custom IEM's  (Read 2795 times)

Offline bhoy

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
Custom IEM's
« on: June 21, 2012, 12:25:36 PM »
I'm looking into getting a set of custom IEM's made for my ears.  Does anyone here use these?  I would mainly use them for portable listening (iPod), home listening, and monitoring recordings in a live situation.  I'm not a musician, so they wouldn't be used for anything band related.

I see Westone makes several sets, and Etmoytic makes a quasi-ear mold version.  The ET's can be inserted into a custom mold, rather than completely built in like the Westone.

I'd love to hear from anyone if you are using IEM's.

Thanks,
Bill

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Custom IEM's
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2012, 12:41:42 PM »
I've used the etymotic er-6 w/ customs and the westone um3x with customs. What are you interested in knowing specifically?
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline bhoy

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2012, 04:06:20 PM »
I was just interested in what brands are available and a rough price.

I see two kinds.  First, headphones than can be inserted into a custom ear mold, and stick out of the ear mold.  Hence these can be used with or without the ear mold.

The second kind appear to be built into the ear mold.  I'm looking at a brand called "1964" now.  This is similar to what bands use on stage.

Westone seems to make each type.

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)
  • #TeamRetired
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2012, 05:19:00 PM »