Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Using Limiter  (Read 5546 times)

Offline santiam

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Using Limiter
« on: September 17, 2012, 11:11:12 AM »
I’m a novice using a Tascam DR-07.  I’m going to be taping this weekend at a large outdoor festival with lots of crowd noise.  Could someone please explain to me how the limiter function works and how to use it?

I’ve read the manual, but it’s still a little unclear to me.  For loud concerts, is it better to use the limiter or peak reduction?  Or should I just try to set the levels manually?

Offline dallman

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (33)
  • Taperssection All-Star
    • Clifford Morse
Re: Using Limiter
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2012, 12:03:01 PM »
You may get many answers, but personally I have never found a limiter to work effectively. There are many safe way around it. I record in 24 bit, at 24/48, and especially when I am getting "to know" a recorder, I am conservative in setting my levels. I try to have it virtually never peak. When I am done recording I use my computer and that is where I raise the volume level of my recording. There is no loss in recording quality at 24 bit if I record conservatively. There are many programs some free like audacity that will allow you to boost your volume levels and track your songs if so desired. After any corrections or changes, I "dither" the file down to a typical 16/44.1 wave file. Again there are programs for free like R8Brain that make this conversion quick and easy.

Of course the best thing you can do is find a live show or live event or some great loud noise where you can practice and get a feel for the deck. Good luck!
Support Live Music: Tape A Show Today!
Deck>possibly something here> Mics

Offline eman

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Return of the Shredi
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2012, 04:24:32 PM »