Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: new to recording, need help on a rig  (Read 2760 times)

Offline rossgoddard

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
new to recording, need help on a rig
« on: November 28, 2006, 11:59:20 AM »
I'm new to audio recording.  I have enjoyed downloading live hsows for a while, and want to get into this nonesense.
I have about 600 bucks, and would like to assemble a eady to use, decent entry rig.  is it possible? 
i listen to a lot of jam stuff, so the recording wouldnt have to be too stealthy.  I also need stuff that is good for that type of music- MMW, soulive, allmans, trey, etc...
i looked at the microtrack and r-09.  worth getting one? 
mics?  power? mic stands? software?
i have a macbook, so i suppose i could also use that in the setup if it would make it better?  no idea....
just need some things to think about/look at so i can get my stuff together
thanks!

Offline Corbin

• Taperssection Member
Re: new to recording, need help on a rig
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2006, 12:20:24 PM »
If I were you I would use your Macbook for taping instead of buying a R9 or MT..especially since you only have 600 bucks.  With a Macbook you could use the program Audacity to record 24bit instead of 16bit.  You might have to upgrade the RAM in your Macbook to use it to tape shows but I'm not quite sure about that.
Buy a set of Studio Projects C4s and a digi mod UA5 and you're ready to roll..

Offline leshlush

• Taperssection Member
  • Bass Great, Lesh Philing...
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2006, 12:33:20 PM »
Buy a set of Studio Projects C4s and a digi mod UA5 and you're ready to roll..

If he's running a mac-book, he won't even need the digimod...

He can worry about modding it down the road when he moves to a rig without a computer in the chain...
« Last Edit: November 28, 2006, 12:51:16 PM by leshlush »
SP C4's > Hydra Silvers > UA5 (digi mod) > JB3

Team Turkey - Western Conference
Team Fun - Western Conference