Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Photoshop noob help  (Read 2747 times)

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

• Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
Photoshop noob help
« on: November 01, 2007, 12:02:14 PM »
Photoshop noob here...

I created a pano using the auto-merge function (very cool!) and now I'd like to apply some effects/fixes (USM).  But when I apply USM, nothing happens to my image.  I have tried to collapse the layers down but apparently haven't done it right or am missing a step.

I also have some scans that have the same problem.

Can someone give me the basic steps needed to go from the multi-layer to an image you can do effects on?  Thanks!

Offline phanophish

• Trade Count: (2)
    • ImageLume Photography
Re: Photoshop noob help
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2007, 12:32:39 PM »
I believe any effects and filters are applied to a layer, so if you have merged and flattened then you should be a single layer.  The other possibility is I know some effects can't be preformed on high bit depth files so you might make sure you are in the correct bit depth for your color settings.  I seem to remember the pano function resulting in a high dynamic range image that could be 16+ bit depth for color. 

Photo:  Nikon D300, D200, 35mm f/1.8,  50mm f/1.4, 85mm f/1.8, Nikon 17-55 f/2.8, Sigma 18-50/2.8 Macro, 18-70 f/4.5-5.6, 24-120 f/3.5-5.6 VR, Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6, Nikon 70-200 f/2.8VR, SB-800

Jake: What's this?
Elwood: What?
Jake: This car. This stupid car. Where's the Cadillac? The Caddy? Where's the Caddy?
Elwood: The what?
Jake: The Cadillac we used to have. The Blues Mobile!
Elwood: I traded it.
Jake: You traded the Blues Mobile for this?
Elwood: No. For a microphone.
Jake: A microphone? Okay I can see that.

Offline Frank in JC

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • (formerly Frank M, but that guy forgot his pwd)
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2007, 01:18:51 PM »