Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Advanced Audio km84 "clone"  (Read 9387 times)

Offline Six Toe

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Advanced Audio km84 "clone"
« on: July 01, 2014, 12:57:48 PM »
Saw this info on gearslutz.  I've been using a pair of km84's for a few years now and love them.  Looks like they cost about $400 each and come with 3 capsules. 

Thread here: http://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much-gear-so-little-time/937538-advanced-audio-251-a.html

It is from the owner in a thread about their other mics.  I know Oliver Archut is making a clone soon too, it is more expensive but nothing compared to used km84 prices.  http://www.tab-funkenwerk.com/id141.html

Anyone know of other clones for this mic? 

Snippet from AA thread:

We are also releasing our new CM1084 in two weeks. We have been working on a microphone to replace the venerable KM84 for several years. Over the last few years the capsule quality from Shanghai has been getting better and better.
We routinely offer to pay Shanghai more money for consistent sounding capsules and even all our 22mm pencil capsules are now run on the stand alone anechoic chamber before shipping to us.

We now have a good supply of very consistent 22mm capsules that have a very low profile head grill with no hf reflections. When I "kluged" this capsule onto a KM84 body VOILA!!! We got the "smooth" vintage sound of the KM84 response.

Our CM54 microphone has more "rise" in the 6-9khz range which is caused by the physics of building a 22mm capsule. Now, the CM54 is brighter sounding because it has a Shoep's transformerless output circuit and there is no high frequency compensation in the head amp plus the capsule has a grated surface like the C451 which tends to cause hf reflections and a "grainer" sound.