Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Balancing convenience and quality  (Read 6362 times)

Offline speedo

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Balancing convenience and quality
« on: December 06, 2011, 03:32:01 PM »
I am a professional sound designer and from time to time I get jobs that require field recording. The last one was a few years ago and I went to Hawaii with a 702 and some stereo mics. I found that the device was really too big and heavy to travel with comfortably. I had to hike in remote areas and it was quite uncomfortable to lug around with all my other stuff.

Ideally, I would love to have good a/d on something like my iPhone. I have an apogee duet 2 which I'm told could work with a powered USB hub. But perhaps a dedicated field recorder with a smaller footprint would be a better solution? Has anyone else had to compromise between gear quality and size? What might you recommend for remote wilderness captures with m/s x/y setups?

Thanks

Offline ScoobieKW

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
    • ScoobieSnax Audio Archive
Re: Balancing convenience and quality
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2011, 04:42:36 PM »
For 2 track, the size smaller but slightly thicker than an iPhone, 15 hours on 2AA, and quiet preamps of the Sony M10 is hard to beat. I run mine with a Denecke PS-2 phantom supply. At 210 for the recorder, it's worth having even as a backup device. The PS-2 will run power my Avantone CK-1 mics for 3-4 hours on a single 9V or can take a 7-22V into a 1/8 TS socket. The PS-2 is nice as the battery can be swapped without opening the case.
Busman BSC1, AT853 (O,C),KAM i2 Chuck Mod (C), Nak 300 (C),
M10, UA-5, US-1800, Presonus Firepod

http://kennedy-williams.net/scoobiesnax/

Online Gutbucket

• record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "Better to love music than respect it" ~Stravinsky
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2011, 06:01:58 PM »
Good answer.