Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: beginning taper questions  (Read 2956 times)

Offline dhora

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
beginning taper questions
« on: December 14, 2004, 11:12:59 PM »
Ok, Hello all. Before checking out this site, I didn't think I was a total taping newbie as I download and trade concerts fairly frequently. I was planning to get some SP-CMC-4 mics and a SP-SPSB-1 battery box w/ bass roll off to run into my NJB3. Now after looking around a bit, I feel like a huge newbie and I have a few more questions to ask.

I'm looking to spend less than $500 on my taping setup because I don't have too much money to pump into this and it may not be something I plan to pursue too heavily. I'll probably tape 3-4 shows a year. I'm  not sure if I'm going to do any stealth recording or not. Most shows I go to have open taping anyway.

Sorry for the long preface.. Here's the questions:

1) How important is something like a UA-5 that can handle mic power/gain/ADC?

2) Would that (UA-5) be something I could skip and add in later if I'm interested since the NJB3 handles gain/ADC although apparently not very well? ie run something like: SP-CMC-4 > SP-SPSB-1 > NJB3 and then run SP-CMC-4 > SP-SPSB-1 > ua5 > NJB3

3) What is the difference between SP-CMC-4 / AT853 / AT853Rx ?
I believe the SP-CMC-4's are AT853's made by the Sound Professionals, but are there any other differences?

4) I see that Sound Projects C4 seem to be pretty well regarded for "cheap" mics. Are they any better or are they about the same as the AT853s/SP-CMC-4/AT853Rx? Which would you recommend, assuming I won't be doing stealthing because the C4's are a bit larger.

5) I notice SoundProfessionals is currently out of stock of many mics. Where else would you recommend buying mics from?
Also I have not found pairs of AT853Rx mics for sale anywhere. Anyone know where to pick them up as a pair? or would I need to pick them up individually?