Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: weak signal on one channel of my edirol r 09  (Read 5474 times)

Offline scarborough warning

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
weak signal on one channel of my edirol r 09
« on: August 13, 2007, 07:15:43 AM »
So I am very new at this only been out 6 times and not the most technically minded but last night when recording I noticed that the right channel was significantly lower than the left.

I am using some church audio mics , so when I got home I directed them at the same sound source, this time finding the right channel worked and the left was low. If I swapped it to mono both channels were the same.

So knowing the problems the edirol has with the mic/ inputs sockets does it sound like this is the problem?

Any help or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Jhurlbs81

• Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • My LMA collection
Re: weak signal on one channel of my edirol r 09
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2007, 09:13:23 AM »
I am unfamiliar with the R9, but it sounds like the mics may be a bit off from each other.  When I run my Cardiod caps I notice they are off by about three db.  The fact that the "weak" channel swapped when you went home makes me think it's your mics, but again, I am completely unfamiliar with the R9 and any issues it might have.  Just a guess hombre.  :)

If it is your mics it's not an issue, neccessarily.  Just need to compensate with your pre.

Jesse

FREE JERRYFREAK!

Offline Dede2002

• Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2007, 11:06:37 AM »
So I am very new at this only been out 6 times and not the most technically minded but last night when recording I noticed that the right channel was significantly lower than the left.

I am using some church audio mics , so when I got home I directed them at the same sound source, this time finding the right channel worked and the left was low. If I swapped it to mono both channels were the same.