Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: newbie's informal poll: while taping, do you stay with your gear all show?  (Read 8568 times)

Offline kgreener

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Newbie question (again), sorry y'all.  I get these questions that keep popping into my head, I think it's a sign I got da' bug and can't wait to tape  ;D  

This may have been asked before, but I couldn't find anything on it.  When you tape, do you always stay with your gear 100% of the time, or do you feel confident that it will be safe, and you can go boogie or socialize?  The reason I asked concerns a gig in January, one of my first taping gigs.  A bunch of dudes set up their gear, checked their levels for a song or two, and then disappeared until set break.  Second set started, they ran the tapes, then took off again until the end of the show.  

I was like wow, those dudes have a lot of faith that nobody's gonna lift their shit.  Me being a rookie, I dunno, maybe they new I was conscious of all the gear, and that I'd keep watch over it?  Was I used?!  The horror   ;)   I personally would *love* to go drink and get a groove on, but I'm too worried about my stuff getting broken or taken.  

Am I being overprotective?

I thank you kindly...

Offline brandont_h

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
I always stay with my stuff.  Even if no one is going to steal it, you never know when some drunk person might trip over your stand or something.  You've got a lot of money invested in that stuff, so it makes sense to act that way.  ;)
AKG C1000S > Edirol UA-5 > Sony TCD-D8
DAB > DA-120F > Sony TCD-D8

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
I stick with my gear.