Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Recorder choice (another one???)  (Read 1851 times)

Offline carpa

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Recorder choice (another one???)
« on: October 30, 2008, 10:43:00 AM »
Hello to everybody, and excuse for my english, very far from being perfect.
This forum is a really nice place and many of you show a big knowledge in recording issues.
Portable recorders; answers are often related to technical considerations which I understand but cannot "translate" in actual sonic performance terms; then I am writing from Italy, where a lot of products you often talk about (particularly mic pres and others) are not available, and prices are much higher than in USA. . That's why I go with a new post, posing some specific questions.
Being a classical music pianist I want to record my concerts  for personal archive pourpose, to put some on my webpage etc. The three aims to mach in a recording rig are portability, lightness and quality. I play solo recitals, chamber music (piano and violin, trio piano violin and percussions) and piano and orchestra in very different acoustic situation and possibility to place the equipment.

My rig was (I sold the dat deck and the mic is broken):
Sony pcm-m1 dat deck(before of this Sony tcd-d3)--Sony ecm 979 m-s stereo mic connected to the deck's mic input using two Shure a95uf line matching transormers in order to unbalance the mic. To save weight I adapted a stand for sheet music as a mic stand (too  low but very portable)
In some cases I plugged the mic(always with the shure's a95 uf) into a very simple pre (no gain control, no phantom, only amplify 10 times the signal and 1/4 jacks ins and out) built by a friend 15 years ago or so, and then into deck's line in.

Here are some samples taken from my webpage (www.akademus.it/artisti/carlo.palese) in the section "repertorio", just to check the average quality of the recordings: