Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Help with a H2 Zoom Recorder - Recording Levels?  (Read 4183 times)

Offline Breaking The Law

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Help with a H2 Zoom Recorder - Recording Levels?
« on: October 24, 2011, 07:01:37 PM »
Hello, and sorry if this has been posted before, I did do a search but didn't see anything that was exactly my problem. I'm fairly new to taping, having had my Zoom for close to 2 years. I am not a tech kind of guy, so I read up on it a bit and just started taping and going with it. I don't have the $$ so I have relied on the internal mic's, and so far so good. But lately I've had problems with my recordings coming out bad, like my levels are too high. I'm suffering from clipping, and the bars when I put it into Audacity are maxing out, if that makes sense. I have lowered the levels all the way down to 55 and still had a show come out terrible with clicks and pops because the levels were redlining. How low can I go before it's too low? I started out at 100 at club shows and didn't have a problem until I went to Accept and they overloaded it. I've since been lowering it like I said all the way down to 55 but still am having trouble. I'm also noticing that my left channel is recording higher than the right. Is there away to adjust levels per side?
Many thanks to any help you can provide.

Offline Ozpeter

• Taperssection All-Star
Re: Help with a H2 Zoom Recorder - Recording Levels?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2011, 06:03:49 PM »
You should always record on "100".  Use the H/M/L slider to select the recording level.  If 'L' is still causing excessive peaks, it means the performance is too loud for the H2 to record without distortion.

See http://www.2090.org/zoom/bbs/viewtopic.php?t=9745 for "how to get the best from the Zoom H2".

Offline Breaking The Law

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2011, 06:50:03 PM »