Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Mic upgrade help  (Read 5016 times)

Offline Rob D.

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
Mic upgrade help
« on: April 12, 2005, 07:53:58 PM »
I've been running MBHO 603s since Oct 2000 and (obviously) have been satisfied with the reuslts. But I'm itchin' to run something else now. Would going from the 603s to the MG 200/210s be enough of an upgrade? (before all you Gefell fluffers hit me with DUH!, please tell why you think that). Although I don't care about active cables I'm even looking at the Schoeps CMC6 but by the time I purchased bodies, cards and hyper caps, wouldn't that be around 4k?. And if I spent that much, I might as well go all the way and get the Neumann TL-170s!  ;D 
I've considered the KM140 but haven't been thrilled with the recordings I've heard from the hypercard (take no offense KM150 owners, I know they are GREAT mics).

I'm no gear slut which is why I'm basically looking for feedback before buying anything on impulse. I've heard all the mics listed above but with all the variables that go into recording (venue, external amps, positions, locations, etc...), I've not been able to hear a true test comparison. Thanks in advance for all who reply!

Offline Tim

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: Mic upgrade help
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2005, 07:57:24 PM »
The MG's are a great value...

you are right on with the price of the schempz... and I say go u89 before you go tlm170 ;D

have you thought about the akg 480 series at all?

I don't want to get into what mics are upgrades from others but sometimes just a little change in the sound is nice. Is there anything specific you feel is lacking from your current tapes or are you more just looking for a change of flavor?
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline creekfreak