Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: tool red rocks - noob question  (Read 8699 times)

Offline thirdeye42012

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
tool red rocks - noob question
« on: June 24, 2010, 11:59:29 PM »
forgive the newbie question, this is my first time researching this topic really, after collecting TOOL recordings for a decade. ill be attending both red rocks shows next week, and i wanted to attempt my first taping at at least one show.

what do i need to have in order to record and save onto my iphone?? 

or else, is there some cheap and easy equipment that a newbie with limited time (3 days) can obtain from his local electronics store?

Offline manitouman

• Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: tool red rocks - noob question
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2010, 01:22:45 AM »
Anything having to do with Maynard (Tool, A Perfect Circle) will be a thorough pat down. I was practically fingered for A Perfect Circle in 2004 @ City Auditorium and again for Tool in 2006(?) Temple Buell Theater show. Not that I didn't get them recorded anyways  ;D You best have a plan on getting gear in if you are going to attempt a recording. 3 days is really not enough to purchase equipment, familiarize yourself with the equipment and then know what to do with it at the show. I'm not saying it can't be done, but more than likely, it won't happen.

I wouldn't worry about it, there should be several people covering it  :veryevil:
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III

Offline rhinowing

• SPLRA - Smashing Pumpkins Live Recording Association
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2010, 03:31:20 AM »
There are a few things to consider here:

1. It's not like Tool isn't going to get taped by someone else. is it worth risking getting thrown out when someone else will most likely be taping with a much better rig?