Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: I need basic soundboard 101  (Read 2114 times)

Offline Ron Priest

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
I need basic soundboard 101
« on: June 27, 2007, 09:57:13 AM »
Can someone please point me to sounboarding 101?

Thanks

Offline Charlie Miller

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Come On, Get Happy
Re: I need basic soundboard 101
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2007, 10:48:58 AM »
what do you want to know?
Audio Engineer & Archivist for Steve Kimock Productions

Schoeps CMC6/MK4, AKG 460/CK61, AKG C34
Sound Devices 744T
Dante Multitrack Rig

Offline Ron Priest

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Re: I need basic soundboard 101
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2007, 11:37:30 AM »
what do you want to know?

Well, the basics pretty much I guess.  I didn’t want to bore everyone with my lack of knowledge asking basic questions.  But, since you asked…

I’m a videographer (mostly weddings) and I have had this old Peavey Unity Series 1002-8 RQ soundboard for a few years now.  I think I used it 1 time. Then I just started mixing my sound at my camera using wireless Sennheiser’s and the Azden 3-cam mixer.

So, I’ve recently purchased a Edirol R-4 and am really looking forward to recording 4 separate channels simultaneously.  However, I thought I might want to use this soundboard at times with the R-4.  I know most of the time I wouldn't need a soundboard with the R-4, not at weddings and receptions anyway, but I would like to know the basics of how to use the board for times when I might want to mix more than one mic to any single channel on the R4. Also, I was thinking that the gain controls along with the High, Mid and Low equalizer would add richness to the sound going to the R-4.  I assume the “gain” are the “pre-amps” built into the board, am I correct?  See, I don’t know much about sound.