Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: lets pretend its the late 80's for a sec  (Read 6649 times)

Offline shhhshhh

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
lets pretend its the late 80's for a sec
« on: January 12, 2008, 09:31:43 PM »
alright, long story short is that i wanna tape a show in april yet i have absolutely nothing to spend on recording gear.
now, i'm not really a newbie when it comes to basic taping. i've used my mp3 player (awful quality if you're anywhere near the stage) to record shows before, but this one im planning to go to is a special show for me and i want it taped in better quality. since my budget is virtually nothing, all i have to use is a Coby CX-R60 cassette recorder and a Sony ECM-MS907 mic. its quite a hulking set of gear, but it can be stealthed in (which i'll need to do).

now here's my problem, how do i get this mic to sound somewhat decent at a full-on metal show at an arena on just this cheap-o tape recorder? i cant afford anything better until after the show, so im kinda stuck.

Offline bugg100

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: lets pretend its the late 80's for a sec
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2008, 11:24:31 PM »
Practice, practice, practice.... Oh Yeah, and post location, be real nice here and ask if any taper has interest in taping the show as well.  Then you got the best you could and maybe also scored a potentially sweet pull with a little help.

Offering to buy beers helps on the other taper part!

Offline shhhshhh

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2008, 12:25:29 AM »
Offering to buy beers helps on the other taper part!

haha! i'll have to remember that.  8)

here's a bit more information if it helps: