Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Audio-Technica AT2022 X/Y stereo microphone  (Read 3743 times)

Offline gihl

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Audio-Technica AT2022 X/Y stereo microphone
« on: October 16, 2017, 05:08:55 AM »
I am new to audio recording.  ::)
Recently. I sold the Tascam DR-100MKIII recorder and I am interested in Audio-Technica AT2022 X/Y stereo microphone.
Is this AT2022 microphone obviously better than the DR-100MKIII's directional stereo microphone?

I usually record the sounds of towns and cities.
It's a very basic question, but I seek your advice.  :)
Thank you for reading.

p.s. Is it useless to record these sounds using a mono microphone like AT4022?
BP4025, BP4029, Zoom F3

Offline billydee

• Trade Count: (19)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Audio-Technica AT2022 X/Y stereo microphone
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2017, 09:56:18 PM »
Hi there.
I have no idea what the DR-100MKIII internal mics sound like but, I recently purchased a slightly used AT2022 from a friend on here and am happy with results from the few times I've used it.

Two of the three times I used it as part of a matrix with a soundboard, and I did use it standalone/wide open at a recent outdoor blues festival and they sound pretty good.
The mic can be set at an either 90 or 120 degree pattern, I've only used them in the 90 degree pattern.

That's about all I can mention, for now, hope it helps.

Offline Gutbucket

• record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "Better to love music than respect it" ~Stravinsky
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2017, 10:01:51 AM »
I usually record the sounds of towns and cities.
Is it useless to record these sounds using a mono microphone like AT4022?