Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Split Omnis  (Read 19084 times)

Offline blu666z

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Split Omnis
« on: May 06, 2004, 02:09:59 PM »
Going to be buying some omni caps for my ATs soon.  I have NO experience with omni and want some ideas/pointers.  How much of a spread is needed?  Want to try and run split omnis @ the Gorge for the Dead/ABB.  2' enough?  The further the better?

-Kevin

Offline Brian

• Trade Count: (2)
Re:Split Omnis
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2004, 02:14:10 PM »
theoretically not much more than a 6' split is necessary.  after that a noticeable cone filter becomes present in the recording. all theoretical though, but some people like the sound it produces. i've heard many a good recordings with omnis spaced more than 6 feet.

2' would be fine.  the wider you space the bigger the soundstage.  

paging m0k3 for J-Disc! ;D

Brian

Offline Tim

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2004, 02:14:14 PM »
I would start with 3' in less than optimum circumstances. I wouldn't go much wider than 10' or so... maybe 6-8' outdoors at a place like the Gorge.

It's not "the wider the better", you can definitely go too wide. Look at the PA and see how wide it goes and the further back from the PA the wider you can go.

just rules of thumb...
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline Brian

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2004, 02:18:11 PM »
tim always posts at the same time i do ;D

the other thing that you have to take into consideration is all the phase issues with split omnis. it would be hard to draw it out using ascii but there are several phase issues that can occur resulting in that cone filter i mentioned above.

Brian

Offline blu666z

« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2004, 02:23:15 PM »