Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: New SDC pair for a semi-pro. Suggestions?  (Read 8070 times)

Offline jaycdunn

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
New SDC pair for a semi-pro. Suggestions?
« on: November 15, 2009, 10:10:19 PM »
I just joined this forum. I've been a part-time recording engineer for many years. I call myself a "semi-pro" because I don't record every single day as a full-time job.

Anyway, I sold my pair of JW modded AKG 460's to TNJazz over on Gearslutz a few years ago. I really liked those mics... but I needed some cash at the time. I had just restored a pair of vintage Neumann U64u, which is partly how I justified selling the AKG's. I also told myself I'd replace them with a pair of Schoeps or DPA down the road.

So now I'm thinking about another pair of SDC's. I don't want to spend Schoeps or DPA money though. I'd like something good for both Phish concerts and smaller jazz gigs. Not sure I want to bring the delicate Neumann U64's to a Phish show. Whatever I get, I'm sure they'll be useful in the studio, but the primary use for this pair is live taping.

The first mic on my list is the Milab VM-44 Classic. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be disappointed with a pair of these. I've liked other Milab mics I've tried on studio sessions, and I've read good things about the VM-44.

The thing is, I can get a pair of Lauten Torch tube mics for 3 payments of around $450 from Sweetwater. They look bitchin', I've read mostly good things about the sound, and they come loaded with accessories, including a stereo bar. The external power supply would make my rig a little more bulky, but still, it's very tempting to pull the trigger on these.

Obviously there are a ton of other mics to consider, both tube and solid state. What else should I be looking at in the "$1,500 and under" category, or should I just get the Milabs? Or the Lautens?