Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: SBD/AUD matrix How do I do it?  (Read 3566 times)

Offline Gr8ful98

• Swamp Funk Junkie
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • Harps & Drums
SBD/AUD matrix How do I do it?
« on: May 10, 2005, 10:57:42 AM »
Hey y'all,
  I've made a few attempts at recording via SBD & AUD. I'm getting mixed feedback from folks. I need some help & clarification on a few things.  And please, talk to me like I'm in kindergarden. Most of the terms & equiptment are foreign to me. I'm a newbie trying to learn from more experienced tapers.

Here's my setup:
SBD>RCA>Dmod UA5>  then  C4>XLR>Dmod UA5>
those are my input sources, then from the UA5 it's optical out to my JB3.

Folks are saying that I need a mixer.  Or that I need to record the SBD & the AUD seperately, and put them together post show with software. What kind of mixer do I need?  How should I record the 2 sources seperatley?

One show I recorded like that, with my mics about 20 feet from the stage & it came out AMAZING!
2 other shows I recorded like that came out good to my ears, but more experienced tapers say that there are problems with
"MIXING and TIME ALIGNING"  How do I mix a show like that?  How do I "time align" a show?

Any help would be much apprecitated.  THANKS!
Namaste,
John Dude

AKG 481's>HYDRA Silver XLR's>Dmod UA5>JB3
Hat>OadeBros Micro Binaural>9vBattBox>JB3

<<<<iso CK62/63's>>>>

Offline John P

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • sometimes a dog is as good as any man

Offline Diamond_D

• Taperssection Member
  • Who's not honoring me now?
Re: SBD/AUD matrix How do I do it?
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2005, 11:14:35 AM »
I will give this a stab, but I'm sure others can give you more detailed information.