Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Stealth mic upgrading  (Read 7789 times)

Offline Von Recklinhausen

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Stealth mic upgrading
« on: October 09, 2005, 08:25:45 PM »
Hello:
Since I am an absolute beginner,  I don't know if this is the most appropriate forum for me to ask some questions. My first contact with live recording has been through the minidisc community forums (www.minidisc.org), so that I bought a Hi-MD (Sony MZ-NH1) and an omnidirectional stealth microphones (Microphone Madness MM), very basic microphones but which have allowed me to make some wonderful recordings: my daughter's violin lessons, Monteverdi's opera "La Incoronazione di Poppea" and others classical music concerts.
Afterwards, I began interested in recording ambient sounds such as bird singing, water sounds and thing by the like, and then my problems appeared as a big self-noise quite audible in these recordings.
So, there go my quiestions:
1. As a minidisc user:
    a) Should I leave this forum inmediately and return to the minidisc community forum?
    b) If I am allowed to stay, should I feel like an allien?
    In other words, what is "bad" whith minidisc versus another gear recordings?
2. I need strongly to upgrade my microphone. I am looking for an omni stealth mic with low self noise and which connects to my minidisc with a miniplug. After an extensive search and since I want to spend around 250$, I am considering the following options:
    a) AT853 from Sound Professionals (SP-CMC8) since it has miniplug connection.
    b) Sennheiser MKE 2 from Microphone Madness (MM-HLSO-Micro).
I would be very grateful if you could give me your oppinion about these or other mics.

PS.: Sorry for my poor english (but I am an allien).

Offline madman

• Taperssection Regular
Re: Stealth mic upgrading
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2005, 11:00:54 PM »