Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Need help with equipment.  (Read 2708 times)

Offline Toki

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Need help with equipment.
« on: September 25, 2007, 06:13:49 AM »
Hi, I am relatively new to taping, and hope you can help me to complete my equipment.
I am recording with RODE Stereo Videomic (it is stereo X/Y condenser mic with standard 3.5mm jack output) to rockboxed Cowon iAudio X5. On some shows I really need to have more gain from the mic, so I think I need a preamp. Unfortunately my budget is quite limited, so I really dont know which preamp in range of 80-100$ would be suitable? Maybe I am missing something besides preamp? Any suggestion would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Offline terrapinj

• Jonesin' for Tunes
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Need help with equipment.
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2007, 03:42:56 PM »
contact Chris Church @ Church Audio, he should have a product for you

http://taperssection.com/index.php?action=profile;u=14500
or
http://stores.ebay.ca/CHURCH-AUDIO
JW mod AKG 460b (ck61/ck63 or mk46/ck1x/ck3x)>  EAA PSP-2 > 722

Segue Dogstar XLRs and Interconnects

ISO: (2) ck2x

Offline Toki

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2007, 04:31:13 PM »
Thank you for the suggestion. I dropped a email to him but have no answer for more than a week... Perhaps his ST-20A is the best choice for me, but still I want to be sure about compatibility with my mic etc.

Offline vanark

• TDS
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2007, 04:39:07 PM »
I think PM'ing him would be best.
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at LMA(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings