Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: AT853's > Deneke PS-2 > MT24/96...HELP! how do I keep from brickwalling?  (Read 6849 times)

Offline symoka01

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
Please help! I just picked up AT853's and a Deneke PS2 with 1/8" jack going into my MT24/96.  I'm taping a loud show on Tuesday but while testing my new rig today at home, I could not keep the test from brickwalling...even though my MT was on the lowest possible input setting.  Can anyone tell me how the hell I can get these mics to keep from brickwalling loud sources? I used to use CSC's (core sound stealthy cards) and had no probs at all with brickwalling. 

I'm pretty new to phantom power mics.  Do I want to keep the phantom power setting on my MT off? What can I do? I'm at a loss as to what I should do.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

nameloc01

• Trade Count: (0)
strange i have the same mics and power supply. and, even though i've only used them 3xs so far, the results lead me to believe that this combo is very hard to brickwall ( in fact, there were occasions where i EXPECTED them too and they did not what so ever.). did you test them with your stereo or something, if so,man thats like minimal SPLs and something is way wrong. i have never used an MT so i cant help with that.hang in there, i'm sure someone will intervene that may know what the hell is going on.

so the MT is capable of providing PP? i would think that should be off, since you're running the PS-2.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2007, 08:36:23 PM by nameloc01 »

Offline Zaphod

• Taperssection All-Star
Are you running mic-in or line-in on the MT?
we are the people the rescuers will never find

Offline symoka01

• Taperssection Regular
Are you running mic-in or line-in on the MT?