Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: I need advice...want to transfer my tape collection to flac....help!  (Read 6073 times)

Offline ShermanOaks1972

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Hi....found this site and am real happy...you are the people I need to talk to.  Here's my story (familiar probably):

I was a really active tape trader (primarily GD) from about 1981 through 1986.  My collection was typical, and rather large.  I have lot's of good clean copies and in retrospect, lot's of garbage.  I had taper friends who did most tours during those years and I have clean 1st gen copies of most shows.  I ended up with a couple of thousand cassettes over that time.

So fast forward 25 years or so.  Been getting my Dead fix off the net for some time.  However I have ALL of these tapes just sitting there....so I have pulled the collection out of storage and sent my Nakamichi deck in for revitalization (the guy said for the $150 it's gonna cost to update my Nak BX-300 I might as well buy this "Yamaha KX-W952" for $175...I thought about it and said "fix the Nak").  And now I embark on the daunting task of transferring the tapes worthy of such action to digital format.

MY question is thus...HELP!  Ok, that's more of a statement, or a plea perhaps, but the next step seems to be the toughest. 

I've done some elementary experiments from tape > wav > flac.  All seems fine.  I have used freebies like Audacity and Foobar to get familiar with things.  I'm unsure of what to buy.   I want to be able to upgrade the quality, edit and make adjustments. 

Basically I am after advice from anybody who cares to offer it, anybody who is kind enough to spare a few moments of time. 

What next? 

(Ironic perhaps, because I clearly remember newbie tape traders who would see my list of shows and humbly state they had nothing to offer me in trade...but would I mind making a dozen dubs for them? So here I am...)