Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Microphone to use with Zoom H1?  (Read 3621 times)

Offline tts42572

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Microphone to use with Zoom H1?
« on: September 23, 2013, 10:06:47 AM »
Wondering if anybody has any thoughts on a microphone to use with a Zoom H1 Recorder?

I'm on a budget of under $100 and just looking for a decent microphone to use that is somewhat stealthy.  Mostly looking to record live music in some smaller venues.  Honestly, don't think the stealth part is a huge deal...Mostly just being stealthy from my wife...LOL....But just don't want something that sticks out like a sore thumb or that I need to hold.

I'm new to the recording thing...Just sorta want something that is easy to deal with and that I can just clip on my shirt or something.

I've got a friend that has used a Sony ECM 719 combined with a Zoom H1 and has really gotten some good sounding recordings with that combination.  Not sure the Sony ECM 719 is very "stealthy" but I suppose it would be okay to clip it to shirt pocket....

Just wondering if anybody had any other suggestions?  I know I probably need to spend way more to get into the "big leagues"...But I'll be happy getting something halfway decent at this point that I can edit later.

Thanks.

Offline earmonger

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • 20-20000 Hz
Re: Microphone to use with Zoom H1?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2013, 10:27:50 AM »
You can do better than the Sony, which is bulky,  has a limited frequency response (i.e., not much bass) and is pretty noisy.  It's cute and widely available but mail order gives you a big quality improvement.

If you can jack up the budget just slightly, and are willing to wait a few weeks, Church Audio's mics are a step up. I would be very curious to hear some recordings made with his new, improved CA-11.

Actually, looking at Chris' current prices--look no further and grab the CA-14 omni for $99...