Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Are my CA 11's dying on me ?  (Read 1962 times)

Offline tw

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • COYS
    • From the Basement ... Danish Archives
Are my CA 11's dying on me ?
« on: November 16, 2013, 10:47:03 AM »
I've been taping with ca11's since 2008 and been more than happy with them - but this last week they have started to make noices - dont know for sure that it's the mics, could be the cables ?? ... - they run via a fully charged bb  into the irriver ... I'v included a small sample - maybe someone can hear what is wrong ... I've got couple of shows comming up NeXT week, so I have to do something !

Willer

Offline earmonger

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • 20-20000 Hz
Re: Are my CA 11's dying on me ?
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2013, 11:32:50 AM »
Do you mean the two static crunches near the beginning? That sounds like a failing connection somewhere. Try bending the cable at various places and see if you can find it.

If it's at the plug, there's probably a local electronics guy with a soldering iron who can replace the plug.  If it's at the mics, maybe you can send it back to Chris and he can do a repair. He fixed an old pair of Church Audios I had for $35--though he's so backed up it took a while.

Or do you mean the sudden volume dip and rise later on? That's more mysterious.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2013, 11:39:55 AM by earmonger »

Offline tw

• Taperssection Member
  • COYS
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2013, 03:49:46 PM »
I was hoping one fix could repair it all ;-) ... if it is the wire ... how to make a simple repair ?? Anything a happy amateur could fix ?

tw

Offline beatkilla

• Trade Count: (70)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2013, 11:19:55 AM »
Have you tried cleaning the jacks?I had that similar sounding issue and cleaning the mic jacks solved this.

Offline fmaderjr

• Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star