Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: newbie to flash drive recorders...my d8's have finally kicked the bucket.  (Read 2988 times)

Offline bearcobb

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • neumann crew
    • my list
ive been taping with a pair of refurbished d8's for just shy of 10 years (xmas '98 from the sony outlet store in la). the primary one had more hours but a few years after major use the the tension in the secondary deck caused some jammed tapes and slightly off timing (half second or so over a 60m tape). so the primary unit was put back into primary use. nonetheless after all this use it seems as if the heads on both of the units are shot and im pretty sure that you cant get replacements anymore. but i know i should be looking into the next generation of recorders.

so im looking for a good overview of what is out there and what you would recommend as my replacement. i wish i could afford a SD 744 but thats not happening. i run a pair of neumann skm184's into an apogee minime.

ive had a friend patch in with a microtrack before and that seems like a good option, but what else is out there these days? new or used, im looking up to around $500 +/- $100. thanks for any suggestions.

Offline bearcobb

• Taperssection Newbie
  • neumann crew
    • my list
Re: newbie to flash drive recorders...my d8's have finally kicked the bucket.
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2008, 01:50:42 PM »
oh, i should add im hoping to find a recorder that can be powered by 6v batteries. my rig uses ecocharge ec-90's with a 12v/6v split to simultaneously power the minime and the d8 (formerly i guess now) so i am hoping to use the same battery configuration. thanks.

Offline dallman

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (33)
  • Taperssection All-Star
    • Clifford Morse
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2008, 01:58:51 PM »