Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Problems transferring DAT to computer - unusual feedback noise  (Read 5159 times)

Offline pearly

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Before I get into the details, I have searched the forums for possible topics related to my issue, but I only came across one thread that might have had the same problem, but the resolution was to uninstall Windows XP Service Pack 2.  I'm not sure if I like the idea of compromising security.

I am a new recording hobbyist and need your help!

Here is my setup :

Asus Z8100Ka notebook
AMD 64 3400+ (2.2Ghz) processor
1 GB of DDR-SDRAM
100GB hard drive

With

Sony PCM-M1 DAT using Maxwell 60m DDS tapes
Sonic Studios DSM-6S/L mics (www.sonicstudios.com)
Sony 7-pin S/PDIF coaxial cable
M-Audio Firewire Audiophile (younger brother of Firewire 410)
Adobe Audition and Sony Soundforge 8.0

Here's a sample of a recording that failed miserably : www.skim.cc/sample.wav

Here's the configuration I have set up on the back of the M1 (see attached pic)

Here's the configuration I have set up on the M-Audio Control Panel (see attached pic)

I have used both Adobe Audition and Sony Soundforge, but I get the same glitching feedback noise when recording anywhere from 5-15 minutes.  Can anyone help me with this problem?  Maybe I have the software configuration not properly set up?  I have read here in the forums that you should disable the built-in soundcard.  Also, Leonard from Sonic Studios told me to disable monitoring.  I appreciate any help from you guys, thanks!~

Offline pearly

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: Problems transferring DAT to computer - unusual feedback noise
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2005, 04:46:49 PM »
Here's the M1 config

Offline Kyle

• Made it back alive!
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Still loves his mic pre's
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2005, 05:18:31 PM »