Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Anyone know of a plugin friendly audio editing program?  (Read 2598 times)

Offline colargol

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Regular
Anyone know of a plugin friendly audio editing program?
« on: January 02, 2018, 02:43:49 PM »
Hi all!

I am tired of doing manual tasks for removing clapping in audience tapes, and I would like to look into coding a plugin to an audio editing tool that can do the job for me. Does anyone have any experience coding such plugins? If so, do you have a ny hints to where I might go for information? I am an experienced programmer myself, but I have never done this kind of thing...

oh, and if this plugin already exists (a regular limiter/compressor/gate is not what I am looking for), please do tell me :-)

-Christian
MK4s/MK41s > nbob actives > tinybox/babynbox > M10/A10

Offline colargol

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: Anyone know of a plugin friendly audio editing program?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2018, 07:16:29 AM »
After a tiny bit of research, this seems like a very nice resource for this:

http://www.martin-finke.de/blog/tags/making_audio_plugins.html
MK4s/MK41s > nbob actives > tinybox/babynbox > M10/A10

Offline rumbleseat

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
    • Sonicsational Audio
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2018, 10:08:33 AM »
I've had good luck suppressing loud applause using the "Declicker" and/or "Decrackler" functions provided with Magix Audio Cleaning Lab.  Several other programs have click removal as well including iZotope and Audacity.
Audacity's "Click Removal" tool is under the Effects tab, and although it is quite powerful, it doesn't run in real time, so some trial and error is needed.

In fact, there's a thread on this topic here:
http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=163137.0

Good luck!