Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Advice on Recording Gear for a n00b  (Read 3887 times)

Offline uninvisible826

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Advice on Recording Gear for a n00b
« on: July 07, 2010, 10:01:16 PM »
 Hey guys, I'm totally new to recording live music. I'm starting a research project (anthropology of rock music) that requires me to make quality recordings of bands in small indoor venues, practice spaces and outdoor festivals. I'll also need to have the ability to record interviews, parties, and the like. I'm basically looking for something with versatility, but a high amount of clarity.  I'm leaning towards getting something with an internal mic (might be better for interviewing and practice sessions in smaller spaces?), but I'm open to any and all suggestions.

I already have an external microphone recommended by a friend of mine but if anyone has suggestions for other microphones I'm totally open to it.

http://www.giant-squid-audio-lab.com...edbattery1.htm

I'm considering one of these three recording devices from researching this stuff online.  I'm open to whatever though.  This is the best several intense sessions of googling could offer:

Edirol R-09

Zoom H2

M-Audio Multitrack 2

I'm leaning towards the Zoom H2 or the Edirol R-09 because they have built in microphones (could be better for ease of interviews), but I've had good luck with M-Audio products in the past, so I'm pretty much stuck here and don't know what's good or what to really look for.  Can anyone steer me in the right direction?

Offline dennisrtyler

• Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Advice on Recording Gear for a n00b
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2010, 10:34:57 PM »
take a look at the newer sony m10. lotta folks selling their r09s for m10s. throw in some Church Audio(search here) CA-14 cards and a CA-9100 pre-amp and you are set. good luck and the search engine here is great.
4. im so abrasive i make sandpaper nervous.