Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Which Portable Recording machine ?  (Read 15632 times)

Offline furkin

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Which Portable Recording machine ?
« on: August 11, 2011, 03:16:26 PM »
Hi all,
I’m a complete newbie to digital / portable recording and want to do some outdoor / wildlife recording - in stereo.

I'm well behind the times now, & know now't about current technology or brands etc, so am hoping someone can point me in the right direction as far as recorders/equipment go.

I’m a disabled pensioner and I'm not 100% certain what I want from a machine, so don't want to spend a fortune - yet. I do know that the machine will need to have mic in sockets, as I want to use separate mic's.  I have no idea what features to look for or what the latest techno-speak means.

Eventually I want to put the recordings onto disc &/or save to PC and have been advised that the quality needs to be better than basic Dictaphones & Voice recorders.

Any ideas please ?

Feel free to put any other information that you think might help for my quest.

thanks for reading.

Offline John Willett

• Taperssection All-Star
  • Bio:
    • Sound-Link ProAudio
Re: Which Portable Recording machine ?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2011, 07:26:14 AM »
Hi all,
I’m a complete newbie to digital / portable recording and want to do some outdoor / wildlife recording - in stereo.

I'm well behind the times now, & know now't about current technology or brands etc, so am hoping someone can point me in the right direction as far as recorders/equipment go.

I’m a disabled pensioner and I'm not 100% certain what I want from a machine, so don't want to spend a fortune - yet. I do know that the machine will need to have mic in sockets, as I want to use separate mic's.  I have no idea what features to look for or what the latest techno-speak means.