Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Basic workflow after recording is done  (Read 1808 times)

Offline percoplus

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Basic workflow after recording is done
« on: October 01, 2010, 12:10:19 AM »
Okay, I have been fumbling around in Audition and having fun with effects and whatnot. However, I have no idea what I am doing. I would like to know what is the normal workflow for editing my recordings. I am a videographer and recording 4 channels onto my new Edirol R-44 - two from a set of mics in the room and two from the soundboard. Doing a lot of band videos in live performances in clubs, etc.

I am more or less familiar with Audition. I just don't know what to do and in what order - EQ, compression, reverb, noise reduction, etc. Please explain what "mastering" is. Maybe direct me to a good book or article. Is there a guide that tells which frequencies affect specific instruments and what EQ settings should be?

In a typical recording studio, each instrument is treated separately. I am recording the whole band. Do different rules apply?

This question should be in the FAQ section.

Offline Chris 91

• Taperssection Newbie
    • DIME Account

Offline admkrk

• Taperssection All-Star
  • I'm an idiot
Re: Basic workflow after recording is done
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2010, 02:00:57 AM »
In a typical recording studio, each instrument is treated separately. I am recording the whole band. Do different rules apply?

in the studio most instruments have their own track. drums can take up several and things like vocals can sometimes share a track. the same basics apply to soundboards. each track is then panned left and right into 2 channels.

you say you're recording 4 channels. even if you meant 4 tracks, you still only have the 2 right and left channels.

obviously that's a completely different ballgame.

<cynical old fart rant>