Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: What to do with onstage access?  (Read 5500 times)

Offline Mr.Fantasy

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • Jesus saves...
What to do with onstage access?
« on: July 30, 2008, 06:01:51 PM »
I have several local bands here in Tulsa that I have been taping....

I am friends with some of the players, but all of them are very cool people. These guys just love being recorded...

So I am sure that they would let me setup onstage....

....but I wouldn't really know what to do with that positioning.

I am a newbie taper, and most shows I tape I setup as close to center and somewhere between, across all the different venues I have to adapt for, as far as 200" (Cain's Ballroom soundboard distance) and as close as 15-20 (for the Bar nextdoor to the Cains) and most other venues in town are in between that range......with the exception of the Brady Theater which would be more like 300" from the stage to the middle of the upper deck.....

But aside from that long bit of digression....

Some band will let me tape onstage, so what should I do to take advantage of that positioning.....????

Should I be trying to hook into the soundboard at these venues? Like some of the bars in town have established stages and some have actual soundboards. Should I be seeking a patch?

Please shed a little light if you can....I am obviously in need of direction....
"I read somewhere that 77 percent of all the mentally ill live in poverty. Actually, I'm more intrigued by the 23 percent who are apparently doing quite well for themselves" ---Jerry Garcia

Mics: Modified Nak 300's, Line Audio CM4
P48/Pres: PS2
Decks: Edirol R-09

Offline Unitmonster

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • taboot taboot
    • List
Re: What to do with onstage access?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2008, 07:51:25 PM »