Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: is this possible? reciever/amp config  (Read 1781 times)

Offline BJ

• been around the world and found that only stupid people are breeding the cretins cloning and feeding
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • They're baaack! ??
is this possible? reciever/amp config
« on: December 20, 2006, 02:49:02 PM »
ok, so I am coming from a very basic and cheap playback system that is also my liveing room 5.1 system.  I recently ordered a 3806, but after two weeks, found that they are out of stock...no wonder they were so cheap.   :banging head: :banging head:

I have never really looked into playback a whole lot.  I would like to upgrade, and have recently purchased new speakers (rega R3 for front and Rega R1 for back).  I was planning on running the 3806, but now I am thinking about other options.  so again, I am a total newb, and don't even know if this can be done.

what I would LIKE to do is keep my current reciever, but send the signal from that to an amplifier that would send the signal out to the R3's, but still let the reciever handle the signal to the r1's/sub.  The amplifier I would like to have two inputs (switchable), one from the reciever for the TV/MOVIES, and one from the DVD player for my music.  This way I still get 5.1 from movies, but have the 2 channel from the amp only, and can leave the R3's hooked up to the amp at all times.  Does this make sense?

can it be done?  if so, any amp rec's for a budget of ~$600?   I would LOVE to have headphones out also..but not needed.

here is a diagram to show what I would like.

« Last Edit: December 20, 2006, 02:51:13 PM by RaZoRbAcK »
Auditory
Intake  waves -> 0/1's -> waves
it's magic 

Offline dmonterisi

• Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re: is this possible? reciever/amp config
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2006, 02:54:14 PM »