Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: 44.1 or 48 khz for microtrack???  (Read 3219 times)

Offline digitalcandy926

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
44.1 or 48 khz for microtrack???
« on: May 07, 2008, 09:01:16 PM »
which should I use and what is the difference????  thanks in advance

Offline KLowe

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • CrossFit....check you ego at the door
Re: 44.1 or 48 khz for microtrack???
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2008, 09:51:02 PM »
what are you using this music for?

if to be synched with a video then 48.

if for personal enjoyment then 44.1 (you will NEVER hear a difference b/t 44 and 48)....and 48's just make for larger files and more work in post

It is more important to record in 24 bit so you can set the levels conservatively without having to worry about clipping.

-one mans opinion
I actually work for a living with music, instead of you jerk offs who wish they did.

bwaaaahahahahahaha.... that is awesome!

Offline prof_peabody

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Team Houston
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2008, 04:54:20 PM »
what are you using this music for?

if to be synched with a video then 48.

if for personal enjoyment then 44.1 (you will NEVER hear a difference b/t 44 and 48)....and 48's just make for larger files and more work in post

It is more important to record in 24 bit so you can set the levels conservatively without having to worry about clipping.

-one mans opinion

If you are going to record in 24 bit you are going to need to dither the recording down to 16 bit.  Since you are forced to dither you may as well record at 48 khz - this will give you a more detailed representation of the waveform.  If you are doing bit truncation to go from 24 bit to 16 bit you may as well be recording in 16 bit because of the artifacts that are introduced by truncation.

some info on sample rates can be found here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sampling_rate