Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Best budget internal mics?  (Read 6850 times)

Offline ManaTau80

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Best budget internal mics?
« on: August 13, 2013, 10:49:17 AM »
So I'm new to all of this, and looking for a portable recorder for wandering around and grabbing samples.

I need something less than $300 and truly portable/handheld. I won't be using any external microphones; I know I probably should, but it just doesn't suit my purposes.

I'm trying to choose between the Roland R-05, the PCM-M10, Zoom H2N and Tascam DR-07. Of course, if there's anything I've missed, let me know. I don't need multiple tracks, or built-in reverb, or anything like that; just simple, straightforward stereo recording.

It seems the PCM-M10 sounds nicest (significantly less tinny and noisy than the Zoom and Tascam), but it's by far the most expensive and the stereo image seems pretty darn awful with the internal mics. The Roland R-05 just came on my radar today, but seems promising.

Any suggestions?

Offline dyneq

• Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection Member
Re: Best budget internal mics?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2013, 11:39:31 AM »
I'd also audition the Olympus LS-14: http://www.getolympus.com/us/en/audio/ls-14.html

It has 2 cardioid (directional toward the front - rejects sound to the rear) mics plus a single omnidirectional (only slightly directional - but captures the low end better than the cardioids) mic. I had the LS-11 and it was a really nice quality unit.

One thing about hand-held recorders to be aware of is that they pick up handling noises while you're recording. I'd recommend a tripod or I think I've also seen handles which screw in to the camera mount on the recorder.

Offline tgakidis

• Trade Count: (552)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2013, 01:05:10 PM »