Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Taping from a less than ideal location  (Read 1906 times)

Offline towanda

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Taping from a less than ideal location
« on: July 27, 2008, 09:06:20 AM »
Hey guys,

I'm still quite new to all this.

Almost all of the shows i've taped so far have been on the floor. This time however i'm stuck with a seated ticket and i'm just wondering what to expect, taping from this location.

Offline Belexes

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Taping from a less than ideal location
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2008, 09:11:10 AM »
I'd run hypers from that position.
Busman Audio BSC1-K1/K2/K3/K4 > HiHo Silver XLR's > Deck TBD

CA-14 (c,o)/MM-HLSC-1 (4.7k mod)/AT853(4.7k mod)(c,o,h,sc)/CAFS (o)/CA-1 (o) > CA-9100 (V. 4.1)/CA-9200/CA-UBB > Sony PCM-D50/Sony PCM-M10

Offline towanda

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2008, 09:20:55 AM »
Cards are all i have.
I'm just wondering what's going to happen being so far from the centre.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2008, 09:32:47 AM by towanda »

Offline eric.B

• to the side qualified
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2008, 09:36:12 AM »
Cards are all i have.
I'm just wondering what's going to happen being so far from the centre.

only one way to find out for sure...
We have a system that increasingly taxes work and subsidizes nonwork.  ~Milton Friedman

Offline willfoy1

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2008, 06:12:46 PM »
Questions to think about: Do you know if the mix is going to be mono or stereo? Where will the stacks be?
If the mix is not stereo, then it's possible to obtain a decent recording from a side-rear location. Emphasis on Decent.