Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: I'm at a crossroads in my taping life and need some advice.  (Read 2326 times)

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • #TeamRetired
I'm at a crossroads in my taping life and need some advice.
« on: March 14, 2004, 05:14:38 PM »
I've been taping for almost 2 years now, and while I am not able to tape often (average of once a month or so), I enjoy the hobby.

My setup up until just after New Years was the following:

LCSC MM-MCSM-4 > Custom SP-SPSB-1 Pre-Amp BBox @16hz > Sony MZ-R500; MD/m

Well, the MD recorder finally died due to problems beyond my total comprehension and the scope of this topic, but it did.

So, I'm left with a set of mics that I can use (and plan on using for stealthing acts until I can get a good set of mics for taper-friendly stuff), and a battery box/pre-amp that is analog only. Again, I have using it down pat, blindfolded, but I wouldnt be against replacing it.

I'm looking forward in time, as the next big thing for me will be tail end of May, and after that Phish this summer, and then the National Folk Festival this fall.

That rounds out what I'll be taping this summer, so its not terribly heavy, and its not for a bit so I've got some time.

Now, the problem is, I havn't the faintest clue of how to rebuild my setup with new parts. Another way to put it would be to say that I dont know what equipment would be best for me in the long run, and what to do to replace stuff.