Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: new to digi recording - budget <US$600 (£330) - any ideas  (Read 1824 times)

Offline limered

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
new to digi recording - budget <US$600 (£330) - any ideas
« on: January 11, 2005, 01:49:41 PM »
hi,
i'm new to recording in digital format. well, i've been using a sony MZR-35 MD with MS-907 mic for a while ,and would like something easier to interface for uploading band jam bootleg mp3's/OGG etc. so quality is not paramount necessarily. However, it would be nice to have flexibility with quality - best -> worst. and the best quality for the money really.
i have been looking around - what would you say is best - my options so far are:-
1) Marantz PMD - 660 (any samples appreciated) , i already have a couple of AT-4035SV's , since i don't necessarily want stealth for my own band practice.
2) Neuros II - with either SP preamp or church audio pre amp and their mics.
since this way i've got a evice for carrying my mainstream music around on aswell.
3) second hand JB3 with perhaps second hand UA5 and some second hand C4's (if i can afford them) - JB3's everyone seems to use on here.
4) a second hand DAT player (M1 or D-100) use the existing MS-907 that i have and also wait for a preamp.
any thoughts or suggestions.- i live in the UK, i don't know if it makes any difference.
what i'd like to do is record jams and try to start up or get involved with an underground music infrastructure/server. for bands that make it up on the spot. <US$600

thanks.

Offline BJ

• been around the world and found that only stupid people are breeding the cretins cloning and feeding
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • They're baaack! ??
Re: new to digi recording - budget <US$600 (£330) - any ideas
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2005, 10:55:48 AM »