Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Church Audio cafs vs CA-11 omnis?  (Read 3965 times)

Offline andyle

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Church Audio cafs vs CA-11 omnis?
« on: June 06, 2010, 04:31:13 AM »
Hi all-- my first post on this forum... lots of knowledge here-- I'm a noob really.
Hoping you can help..

I currently have a small home studio with a Allen and Heath mixer, a Motu Traveler and a CAD M179, Avantone Ck-7, AKG C1000, Heil PR-40 and EV vocal mic. I have a Sony PCM-D50 I'm using for field recording.
I'm primarily using this kit to record myself and friends playing acoustic / semi acoustic music  and also out and about recording acoustic shows and  local bands. 

I'm looking to augment this with an ommi capability with jecklin disk or dummy head for room ambiance when tracking in the studio and also with my D50 when out and about.. I'm not stealth taping nor looking to record extremely loud stacks.. mostly acoustic or small venue PA.

I'm currently considering either
a)  CA-C11s with 9100 preamp
b)  CA-CAFs with 9100 preamp
c)   Naiant   X-W pair with Littlebox

Which would you folks recommend? Is there a significant difference in quality in these options? Are there better options in this price bracket I should consider?

Many thanks for any help you can give me.

Offline fmaderjr

• Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Church Audio cafs vs CA-11 omnis?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2010, 10:55:44 AM »
I love both the littlebox and the ST-9100, but obviously the ST-9100 would be easier to carry when "out and about". The littlebox has at least 12 dB more gain and many more options, but you can't put it in your pocket.

I think the CA-11 mics sound great, but the CAF's are supposed to be better. I never tried them because I have DPA 4060's.

I know nothing about Naiant mics and not many people here have posted about using them, but the littlebox is an incredible product.