Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Experimenting with mic placement  (Read 3566 times)

Offline splumer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Go ahead, try this at home
Experimenting with mic placement
« on: December 28, 2009, 02:14:40 PM »
Ideally, I'd like to be able to see the same band in the same venue many times to be able to experiment with different mic placements, but that would get rather expensive in terms of time and money. So, thought I, why not set up in my living room, crank the stereo and experiment there? Despite my low post count I'm not a newbie. More of a lurker. I run Shure Beta Green 4.1's > unmodded PMD660.

Opinions? Suggestions?
"Forget Jesus, the stars died so you could be here. "
 - Lawrence Krauss

Offline boojum

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Experimenting with mic placement
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2009, 10:51:17 PM »
You can get a rough, very rough, idea of what you will get in the field.  Better is the slow and patient way of trying the various rigs at the venue you will be working.  If you are under 40 time is not really an issue.   ;o)
Nov schmoz kapop.

Offline splumer

• Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2009, 09:14:19 AM »
You can get a rough, very rough, idea of what you will get in the field.  Better is the slow and patient way of trying the various rigs at the venue you will be working.  If you are under 40 time is not really an issue.   ;o)

Well, then, it's an issue.  ;D   By time, I was thinking more of just being able to fit in all those shows when the real world intrudes.
 - Lawrence Krauss

Offline DSatz

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (35)
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2009, 12:15:07 PM »
Unless you are secretly very wealthy, I'm going to assume that your living room isn't as large as most of the spaces that you'll eventually be recording in, and that it's furnished in a more or less typical way as well.