Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Mme soft limit and gain questions..  (Read 4338 times)

Offline Nick's Picks

• Trade Count: (33)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • I thought I heard.......
Mme soft limit and gain questions..
« on: August 23, 2005, 06:09:33 PM »
Hey all...

Mme novice here.
My first outing with it was sort of a dissapointment. 

I was running carls c34, which is a real bear to run.  It needs a ton of gain.  I used to run it all the time w/an ad1k and that was never an issue.  Plenty of juice for it.

I found that I had to crank up the gain knobs 99% of their available play to get the levels where i was kicking -2db. 
I was also running the SL setting.  No curve...as several Mme owners recomended.

My resulting recording sounds bloated, distroted and compressed.  Some of it is real nice, but most of it is sort of boomy ass.

any advice here?
Luckily, I'll be running my 140s from here out.

Offline johnw

• Trade Count: (11)
    • My cd List
Re: Mme soft limit and gain questions..
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2005, 06:32:05 PM »
I'd change the internal jumpers to high gain instead of low so you don't have to crank it. The diagram with jumper location is in the manual. I'd also turn off the SL as this may be causing the compressed sound.

I think that the best way to run the MME is to have the gain so that the lowest greens are always on with flickers of the second set of green LEDs. This should leave plenty of room for any sudden increase in decibel level. I'd read that the red LEDs are pretty forgiving, but I haven't found that to be true. Besides at 24 bit, you are using more with less gain than I am at 16 bit. I try to maximize bits and don't mind the effect of the SL kicking in (would rather have that than clipping). With SL, I can focus on the band and not levels. When I eventually go to 24 bit, I'll dial back the gain and turn off SL.