Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Videomics for LOUD live recordings  (Read 1933 times)

Offline Visionair

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Videomics for LOUD live recordings
« on: December 27, 2009, 09:53:59 AM »
Hi all,

This is my first post overhere.
I'm looking for a possible comfortabler way of videotaping concerts, both open and stealth.

I'm fairly new to this so I'm trying to be as specific as I can on where I am at the moment, I did a lot of reading though.
A while back I bought a dv camcorder because I got interested in videotaping events. After the first gig I taped I found out that the build in mics on camcorders are useless most of the time when it comes to filming loud concerts. Fortunately I was sitting in the back of the venue so the audio is far from perfect (distorted) but still audible. I upgraded cams by buying a Canon HV20 a little later and borrowed a Zoom H4 to record audio separately. The Zoom h4 gave me much better audio!
However I still feel I'm not completely happy with the way I work now and I need some advice.
First of all, you should know I work alone and would like to keep it that way when it comes to stealth situations.
I work now as follows:
I carry the Zoom in my jackets pocket, but while filming my arms block the mics of the Zoom a bit which obviously gives worse audio results when not. I also set up the H4 as an external mic for the HV20 but that leaves me still with the blocking problems.
Mounting the H4 to the HV20 is no option for me, because I find the H4 to big to mount.

Now my 2 questions:
1- How should the H4 be held to get the best audio recording? Vertically or horizontally pointing towards the stage? Or are both ways ok?