Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Taping Buskers (Street Musicians) in Pittsburgh  (Read 1804 times)

Offline TAlderson

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Taping Buskers (Street Musicians) in Pittsburgh
« on: September 08, 2010, 02:39:00 PM »
For a project for a radio program I'd like to walk around the city I'm in (Pittsburgh) and try to record some street performers. I've got a Tascam DR-07 that I use mainly for recording myself (I'm a music student), and access to other equipment from our radio station (WRCT). We have lots of 57s and 58s, a few omni and cardiod condensers, and a Marantz 661 recorder.

So, my question is, how light/easy can I go without too much sacrifice of sound quality. I will be mostly walking and taking the bus, so I would like to have as little equipment as possible. I read http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=110492.0, but I don't think we have any binaural mics available. Since there's generally a lot of street noise anyway, could I get away with using a 58 or 57 with the DR-07, or even the internals? Or will the internal noise combine with street noise and make everything terrible? If I go with a condenser, should I go omni or cardiod? I don't have too much time before it starts getting too cold for busking, so i want as few trial and error days as possible...

Thanks,

-Tyler

PS: If anyone happens to know good places to find buskers in Pittsburgh, please tell me. I figured the Strip and E Carson, but otherwise it's been hard finding them...

Offline rhinowing

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • SPLRA - Smashing Pumpkins Live Recording Association
Re: Taping Buskers (Street Musicians) in Pittsburgh
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2010, 03:27:21 PM »