Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Is a MIX of lossy SBD stream with lossless AUD still lossy?  (Read 3524 times)

Offline Emile

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
Is a MIX of lossy SBD stream with lossless AUD still lossy?
« on: April 03, 2013, 10:59:08 AM »
Just wondering what people think about this one.

One of my recordings was just banned on DIME. It's a MIX of 2 sources:
1) a LOSSY webcast stream rip
2) a LOSSLESS AUD recording

The result is a really solid sounding recording, which I would love to share with people.. however..

Do people consider the result of this MIX still lossy? I would argue that it's lossless, but then again.. I'm not an expert on this.

Would love to hear your opinions. (if it is still lossy, can someone explain why?)

Best & Love
SP-CMC-2 (AT831s) > SP-SPSB-1 > SP-XLRM-MINI-2 > Edirol UA-5 bm2p+ (Toslink out) > (Optical in) iRiver iHP-120 (CF Mod 16 GB / Rockbox 3.13)
Recordings on LMA: http://archive.org/bookmarks/emileh

Offline ScoobieKW

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
    • ScoobieSnax Audio Archive
Re: Is a MIX of lossy SBD stream with lossless AUD still lossy?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2013, 12:13:32 PM »
You can't add back the bits that are thrown away. Lossy + Lossless = Lossy

Dime set the Lossless rule to stop MP3 copies spreading and being considered the definitive source, in their zeal to stay pure they'll ban an excellent recording.

Seed it to another tracker, the proof is in the pudding, if it's good it's good.
Busman BSC1, AT853 (O,C),KAM i2 Chuck Mod (C), Nak 300 (C),
M10, UA-5, US-1800, Presonus Firepod

http://kennedy-williams.net/scoobiesnax/

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • #TeamRetired
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2013, 12:41:51 PM »