Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: So I got a Microtrack II, what now?  (Read 5383 times)

Offline beatthediese

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
So I got a Microtrack II, what now?
« on: December 18, 2008, 11:50:07 AM »
I'm very new to this but I feel like I should be able to catch on rather easily, I guess I'm just searching for some more detailed responses. I'm familiar with recording as I have an M-Audio Mobile Pre USB that I do home demos with all the time. Here's what I'm doing exactly: On January 16th my band is doing a local show and a buddy of mine is going to film with a few HD cams, so I'd like to get some better audio that he can mix in with it. Going soundboard is not really an option. So, I have an M-Audio Microtrack II and was curious as to what else you guys would recommend. I'm on a budget of about $300 as far as the mics/battery box/pres etc.

How does it all work together? The Mics go to the battery box which goes to the Microtrack. I get that, but what are all of the connections? How does the SPDIF work, I know nothing about that. I've seen talk of Church Audio mics, is their a site that I can purchase from other than their ebay store? Which will suit me better the CSB set for $260 or a set of Church Audio stuff? We're a louder band in the van of Mudhoney and Pavement.

Thanks a ton to everybody that answers!

-Adam

Offline J.Maye

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Formerly Phan2001
Re: So I got a Microtrack II, what now?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2008, 11:55:39 AM »
A church audio set of mice/pre and a cable from pre>MT is all you need and will sound better then the CSB's. You can email chris, he is a member here. Check out the retail section for more details.
AKG CK91/92/93/94>mk93/h98>se300b>BM2P+ua5>M10
Or
CA ST11 (C,O)>9100>M10
Busman T mod R4

Offline Jhurlbs81

• Trade Count: (20)
    • My LMA collection
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2008, 11:59:59 AM »
Hey Adam-