Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: SP-CMC-2 question  (Read 2189 times)

Offline bigu2fan

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
SP-CMC-2 question
« on: March 22, 2009, 10:47:18 AM »
I am brand new to taping and have a question. I have done a bit of homework, and was wondering if you guys could help. I have a Tascam DR-07 on the way and am trying to finalize mic selection. I plan to use these with the Croakies mount. I am leaning toward the SP-CMC-2 with the SP-SPSB-8 battery box. I plan to use this strictly to record loud rock shows in front of the soundboard or closer. Should I get the "high sensitivity" option with these mics or the "low sensitivity" option which costs $20 more. One of my favorite bands is Smashing Pumpkins, which has become taper friendly. So, this is the type of band that I would like to tape with this rig (I shot video of them on 7/5/07 if that gives me any cred).

Or, do you think I should get the SP-CMC-19, which is much cheaper than then SP-CMC-2 and also works with the Croakies mounts? I always figure you get what you pay for, which is why I went with the SP-CMC-2. I am kinda confused on the "low sensitivity" vs "high sensitivity" thing, though. The SP-CMC-19 only has the "low sensitivity" setting, but the SP-CMC-2 gives you a choice. I don't mind spending the extra $20 to get the right thing, but I just don't want to buy the wrong one first and have to return it.

Please be kind this is  my first post. Thanks very much in advance for any help you can give.

--bigu2fan

Offline Dede2002

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: SP-CMC-2 question
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2009, 10:55:06 AM »