Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: ARCHOS GMINI 402 Help  (Read 1816 times)

Offline jimfo

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
ARCHOS GMINI 402 Help
« on: March 04, 2006, 04:11:26 AM »
Hey Now,

Sorry to bother everyone, but I've searched the forums and the web for quite a while looking for info on the Archos GMINI 402.  I can't seem to find any info on recording levels, if they are easily able to be monitored and adjusted while recording.  I'm relatively new to taping, been using a *gasp* cassette deck for sbd feeds for a long time, then moved up to MD, but my recorder broke.  I've also done some simple recording for a band on a Boss BR-1180 HD recorder.   Now I finally have the opportunity to go digital for real.  I'm looking for a hard drive recorder similar to the JB3 but a little more fancy, portable, battery powered, and something with a nice backlit screen and good recording level options...Does anyone have any helpful info for a newbie on this machine?  I was thinking about this package here...

http://www.soundprofessionals.com/cgi-bin/gold/category.cgi?item=SP-GIGATRACKER

It looks pretty ideal for what I wanna do, which is typically record from an RCA sbd feed,  but I'd also like the ability to plug in mics eventually.  I've looked far and wide for more info on this thing...It appears that the only input is analog 1/8 inch headphone size via an included adapter?  Does anyone use this setup and know the pros and cons of it for live recording?  Most all the info I've found on this device seems to be more related to the video capabilities...I'm not interested in video, just recording live audio.  Any info on any related equipment that might work better would be appreciated as well.

Thank you for any help anyone might be able to offer, I appreciate it!

Offline Thom Joad

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • Team TNT!
Re: ARCHOS GMINI 402 Help
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2006, 08:13:32 AM »